Create MEP Project Model
BIM Suite · ProjX New Model Setup · 2m
This lesson teaches you how to create an MEP project model by setting up a central model in a new location. You will learn to detach from an existing central model, save it as a new central model, and create a local copy for your work.
Specific topics covered include the process of detaching and preserving worksets, the importance of using local servers for this workflow, and how to synchronize your local model with the central model effectively.
Transcript
Okay. Now it's time to set up my MEP model. So I'm gonna go to open, and I'm going to go to where I to this model. And so remember that I just copied and pasted the template here and then renamed it. And the template model is a central model, and I just copied it over here.
So I need to detach from central this model to make it a central model in this new location. So I'm going to say open. I'm going to detach and preserve worksets. And then the very first thing I'm gonna do is say file, save as, project, and I'm gonna save over this. And you will see that in the options here, make this a central model after save is checked.
And then so I'm just going to hit save. So the central model is defined as a central model in a different location. And what I just did is I broke the connection to that old central model, and I remade it as a central model in its new location. And by the way, this technique does not work on cloud hosting services like Dropbox or Drive or things like that. If you're if you're a remote team, you may need to look into ACC.
On a desk construction cloud, we have videos on that as well. It's actually what we use because we're a remote team. This workflow works if you're on a local server. Okay. So I've now recreated this as a central model in this location, but I'm now in the central model, and I don't wanna be in the central model.
I wanna be in a local model. So I'm going to close this, and I'm going to reopen it. Now this time, since it is a central model in this location, it gives me the option to create new local, which is what I want to do. So I'm going to open that, and you can see that it has appended my username to this model. And that is an indication that I'm in the low in a local copy.
And so when I want to save my work, I don't save. Saving just saves my local copy and doesn't sync to the central model. I will want to hit the synchronize with central button. So I am now in the in a local model, in my MEP model, and I'm ready to set it up.